40th Anniversary Convention

40th Anniversary Convention, AGM and Auction Era Induction

A highly successful 40th Anniversary Convention, AGM and Auction Era Induction was held on Friday, February 7, 2014 and Saturday, February 8, 2014 at the Best Western Seven Oaks Inn in Regina, SK.  17 Auctioneer delegate members of the SAA were present for the AGM.  Greetings from the province of Saskatchewan were brought by MLA Delbert Kirsch of Middle Lake.  As well as being an LMA, Delbert also holds an Auction Company license, and is a member of the SAA.

Two new directors were elected for three year terms on the board:  Barrie Jung of Melfort, and Norman Mack of Estevan.  The executive for 2014 was elected at the post AGM board meeting.  During the President’s Banquet, 40 year members were recognized:  Balicki Auctions of Prince Albert, Johnstone Auction Mart Ltd of Moose Jaw, Hodgins Auctioneers Inc of Melfort, Kramer Auction Sales Ltd., of North Battleford, Frontier Auctions of Wadena, and Lackey Auctioneers, Real Estate and Appraisals of Weyburn.  We were pleased that four of the six members could be present to receive their recognition.

Outgoing directors Frederick Bodnarus of Saskatoon and Ross Taylor of Reston, MB were recognized for their service to the SAA.  Two deserving inductees were introduced as the newest members of the Auction Era Hall of Honor:   Arlie Murry of Parkland Livestock Market in Leross, and Mel Stroeder of Stroeder Auction Service in Humboldt.  Both men’s names will be installed in the exhibit at the Western Development Museum in North Battleford.  The evening was completed by the musical comedy of Tom Liske.