2018 Convention and Auction Era Induction Held in North Battleford

The 44th Annual Convention and AGM was held in North Battleford at the Western Development Museum on Wednesday, January 31, 2018. Delegates enjoyed meals sponsored by The Western Producer, CJWW Radio, 620 CKRM Radio, and GX94 Radio. Professional Development sessions included an update on electronic devices, by Miss N Supports, and a very informative session on the sale and registration of vehicles and trailers, etc., by Randy Stoneham of SGI.

An Auction Era induction recognized M. Elwood Nelson of Meacham, and Dale Breiman (d) of Battleford, into the Hall of Honor. Their families were present to recognize their contribution to the auction industry in Saskatchewan. Plaques denoting their induction are in place in the Auctioneers exhibit at the WDM in North Battleford.

Elected to the board of directors for three year terms were: Paul Moore of Yorkton, Bruce Schapansky of Tisdale, and Lucas Closson of Unity. We welcome Paul back to the board for his second term, and Bruce and Lucas for their first. Board of Trustee member Irv Stevens, (as a non-auctioneer member of the Board), retired after 18 years of service to the SAA. A special plaque was presented to Irv in recognition of his long time service to the Association. Outgoing directors Loren McDougall and Tim Palmer were recognized for their six years of service to the Association, and were presented plaques in commemoration. The executive for 2018 is Brad Stenberg, President; Paul Moore, Vice President; and Riley McChesney, Treasurer.

The annual fundraiser auction was very successful this year, and was followed with a musical comedy presentation by Dave McQuaid of North Battleford. The 2019 SAA convention and AGM is scheduled for January 30, 2019 in the city of Regina. The move to a mid-week convention enables delegates so desiring, to continue on to the Auctioneers Association of Alberta convention, to be held the following weekend in Calgary, AB.